Getting to Know Your ASA President

Now that the stress of finals is over and everyone is taking a well deserved break, we felt it was appropriate to better introduce you to your ASA representatives and what they have been working to accomplish this past semester.  It only makes sense to first introduce you to President Matt Anderson, a senior Biology major from Sioux Falls.  In addition to Matt’s outstanding commitment to ASA, he is a violinist in the Augustana Orchestra and has been a Peer Advisor for three years running.  Matt has also been part of the Viking Days Committee, the Residence Life Advisory Committee, and the Dining Services Task Force (a.k.a the Kitchen Cabinet).  Matt is a dedicated and proud member of the Augustana community, and was excited to share his thoughts with you!

What Is Your Role As President of ASA?

Matt:  As President of ASA, I work with the executive committee (which consists of Krista Youngberg, the Vice President, the committee chairs, the treasurer, and director of communications) to help with logistics and brainstorming for the entire student association.  Krista and I also have the privilege of meeting weekly with Dr. Jim Bies, Dean of Students, to gain insight into college issues and activities of interest to the association.  We also work directly with each senator on a daily basis to provide support for the multitude of projects and initiatives that are occurring on around campus.  A lot of my time is spent in communication with faculty, administrators, and students, in an effort to make sure we are tackling the most relevant and pressing issues for our campus.  My job is made so much easier because of the incredible support I have from all of the senators and other executive committee members I am surrounded by.

What has inspired you as a leader?

Matt:  I was very inspired by the leadership of former president Thad Titze, and learned a great deal about ASA while working as vice president last year.  Being involved in ASA has given me so many opportunities to give back to Augustana, which I find very rewarding.  It takes a great deal of time to keep up with everything, but I truly love this job.  I get to work with people who care about Augustana just as much as I do, so it is fun to see so many passionate people come together with one common goal: to continue to make Augustana a place that cultivates learning and societal engagement on a level that you cannot get at any other institution.

What have you been doing to better Augustana’s community this past semester?

Matt:  Krista and I have  been working with Volunteer Services and USF’s student association president to establish a strong relationship between our student bodies.  We hope to collaborate on some pretty big service projects that are in the works for the coming few months.  Additionally, we have been working on finalizing the development and publication process of a mobile application for our campus, something that Thad Titze and I initiated last year while in office.  When completed, the mobile app will provide students and faculty with an intuitive and effective tool to access information on their smartphone.  This information will consist of everything from the dining hall menu to Moodle to emergency contact information.  We are excited to release the app to campus in the coming weeks!

What can students do to make sure their voices are heard on campus?

Matt:  The ASA Executive Committee works tirelessly to help oversee and coordinate all of ASA’s larger projects and initiatives.  While we are very active, we are always open to new suggestions and ideas.  I really would encourage you to stop by the ASA office (located next to the entrance of the commons), shoot us an email (asa@ole.augie.edu), check out our website, or connect with us via social media (Facebook and Twitter).  Let us know what you think about what we are doing.  Get to know your senators, as they are your simplest and most direct voice to the senate.  No idea is too big or too small for us to explore!  

So what does Matt enjoy during his free time?

What is your favorite meal at Augie?

Matt:  My favorite meal at Augie is either the Augie Bowl or the hot open-face sandwiches.  I also enjoy the cookie decorating nights, because frosting is my favorite.  The cookie dough nights are pretty great, too.  I guess it is safe to say that nearly every day is a great day for me at the commons – I enjoy eating pretty much every meal they make!

What is your favorite memory here?

Matt:  My favorite memory at Augie took place over the entire week of Viking Days this year.  I had such a great week, and really enjoyed Viking Varieties at the Pavilion.  I enjoyed playing in the orchestra in front of a sold out house – that is an experience that will stay with me for quite awhile.

If you had a superpower, what would it be?

Matt:  I don’t always study, but when I do, I usually stay in my room in East.  It is always quiet, and I have plenty of coffee and snacks to keep me awake for the long haul!  I wish I didn’t ever have to sleep. Sometimes it really seems to get in the way of homework and other obligations with friends.  If I could develop the power to stay awake indefinitely, that would come in handy.

Well, that concludes our first official ASA blogpost, so we hope you enjoyed it!  If you have any other questions for Matt, please feel free to contact him via email at mpanderson10@ole.augie.edu or by phone at 605.254.4538.  Please send email us at asa@ole.augie.edu and check out our website,  Facebook, and Twitter pages.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

