Meet Your Director of Communications

So who is behind all of the social media, blogging, emailing, and note taking for ASA? Meet Aimée Fisher, a junior Art and Education major from Montgomery, MN. She does a lot of the behind the scenes work for ASA to ensure the senate and the student body stay connected. In addition to working as the Director of Communications for ASA, Aimée keeps busy as a student ambassador,  an events coordinator for PRSSA, as part of the UBG Big Event committee, and helping people pronounce her name (it’s A-May). The Director of Communications position is new to ASA this year and has really helped us grow as an organization. Aimée was excited to share her thoughts with you today…

What do you do as the Director of Communications?

Aimée: It’s a pretty long list, but to keep it short and simple, I am in charge of ASA’s social media outlets, our email account, website, and the meeting minutes. I work alongside Matt, Krista, and Seth to brainstorm ideas weekly and communicate between the senate and student body.  Additionally, I take care of the marketing needs for ASA and keep an eye on the student calendar. I get to work with some pretty awesome students, faculty, and administrators here at Augie. It’s been a great year so far!

Why did you choose to become part of ASA?

Aimée: I was extremely involved in student government during high school, and was looking to become more involved here at Augie. I love that ASA is the voice of the students, and I’m constantly gauging what students are thinking and talking about. Augie is full of so many amazing people who want to make a difference. When the position for the Director of Communications opened, I felt this was the perfect opportunity to help further connect ASA to the student body and create the change students want to see. I was especially interested in the position because I have an interest in marketing and wanted to put my creative skills to work. ASA didn’t have a large online presence in past years and I’ve watched the number of followers grow throughout this year. It’s been an extremely rewarding experience.

What have you been working on this past year?

Aimée: At the beginning of fall semester I did a lot of work just learning more about ASA and the vision Matt and Krista have for it. I did a lot of work on the Facebook and Twitter pages for ASA and recently started up a blog. I’ve had to do a lot of learning on the job, like how to do some simple coding for the ASA website. I also work hard to make sure what happens at meetings is translated through the minutes to the student body. A lot of my work is anonymous, but I’ve worked hard to streamline some of the processes that ASA goes through to communicate with the campus.

How can students make sure their voices are heard? 

Aimée: I would love to have more emails sent to our asa@ole.augie.edu account and messages via Facebook and Twitter. We want to to hear what students have to say! Also, I would like to get 600 likes on Facebook. We are at 557 right now and who knows, there could just be a prize for the 600th like…

The best way to make sure your voice is heard on campus is to check out our Facebook and Twitter and comment or send us a message. I always have the ASA email and Hootsuite accounts up on my phone so I can usually respond within a few hours to any questions, comments or concerns. Feel free to contact me by email at affisher11@ole.augie.edu, by phone (507) 779-8505, or take a stroll through the art studio and come chat!

What is your favorite meal at Augie?

Aimée: I would have to say stir fry with rice, crab, oranges, peas, peppers, broccoli, and general tso sauce. I’m also a huge fan of the chocolate chip cookies.

What is your favorite memory at Augie?

Aimée: I don’t know if I could choose! My trip to India with Dr. Looney and Dr. Pennington is one of my favorites, but there are a lot of little things like the slip n’ slides we created freshman year outside of Berg. All-nighters in the art studio are also pretty memorable.

Where is the best place to study on campus? 

Aimée: Honestly I can’t stay in any one place for too long. Sometimes I’m in the library, other times in the Madsen Center or the Huddle. Usually I like to work in the Art and Children room in the Center for Visual Arts or the couch in the painting studio!

If you could have a superpower what would it be?

Aimée: I would love to have the ability to be in two places at once. I could get so much more accomplished!

Now that you’ve met our Director of Communications, please stay tuned to meet the chairs of our committees: Personnel and Development, Curriculum, and Co-Curriculum. As always, feel free to contact us at asa@ole.augie.edu, or via our websiteFacebook and Twitter.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

